Return fire

Ask a question about rules
Répondre
Badger
Soldat
Messages : 2
Enregistré le : dim. 25 oct. 2020 17:19

Return fire

Message par Badger » mer. 28 oct. 2020 20:09

I'm starting with my first few games and I've a question on the fire process and returning fire:

Scenario
French army units
FFF

AA
Austrians
1. French moves 3 units to 3UD and fires as it has integrated skirmishers. Austrians are out of range and cannot return fire. All 3 French units get action markers
2. Austrians move 2 units forward to 2UD and fire. Who can return fire?

Is it just the units fired on?
Page 53 - Return fire a unit fired on can return fire even if they have an action marker.
However what happens with the 3rd French unit, they arent being fired on can they still provide support fire for the French units Returning Fire?

Adrian Steer
Brigadier
Messages : 30
Enregistré le : ven. 4 sept. 2020 20:17

Re: Return fire

Message par Adrian Steer » mer. 28 oct. 2020 21:12

Looking at page 53 in the rules I don't believe you can fire unless you've been fired upon so no you don't get support on your return fire from the third unit

RogerGreenwood
Sergent Major
Messages : 67
Enregistré le : ven. 29 nov. 2019 20:55

Re: Return fire

Message par RogerGreenwood » jeu. 29 oct. 2020 09:39

Correct, of course the French did not have to open fire with all the skirmishers, they could have held fire and closed to give a volley.

Adrian Steer
Brigadier
Messages : 30
Enregistré le : ven. 4 sept. 2020 20:17

Re: Return fire

Message par Adrian Steer » ven. 30 oct. 2020 19:10

Was reading through the rules yesterday and noticed that also on page 53 under firer with action marker it does say " A unit with an action marker can still conduct supporting fire". Not sure what to make of it but on the face of it would seem that the third french unit can contribute to the return fire. Any comments from anyone else?

RogerGreenwood
Sergent Major
Messages : 67
Enregistré le : ven. 29 nov. 2019 20:55

Re: Return fire

Message par RogerGreenwood » ven. 30 oct. 2020 20:41

Yes Adrian, you are correct. If I read it correctly, a unit with an action marker cannot give fire support for shock combat. The answer to the original question then, is that the unit can add its fire support.

Badger
Soldat
Messages : 2
Enregistré le : dim. 25 oct. 2020 17:19

Re: Return fire

Message par Badger » lun. 9 nov. 2020 11:11

Hi
Thanks for the feedback and pieces to look at.

I think the reason B2 on p53 cant fire is bacause it wasnt fired on and already has and action marker it can only react.
It cant fire in support due to the fire zone limitation p51

Répondre