I apologise for my post in English but I cannot speak French..
If an Austrian cavalry unit wishes to charge a French infantry unit, and the French have a unit of artillery that could opportunity fire on the Austrian cavalry, the rules indicate the fire would be counted as support fire in the shock resolution.
But in this forum a post seems to indicate the opportunity fire could be resolved separately.
Which is th case?
Thank you
Andrew
Opportunity fire at charging enemy
-
- Chasseur
- Messages : 14
- Enregistré le : mar. 18 juin 2019 12:25
- Talleyrand
- Lieutenant
- Messages : 177
- Enregistré le : dim. 6 janv. 2019 15:44
Re: Opportunity fire at charging enemy
For this case, the first answer is apply.
the fire would be counted as support fire in the shock resolution. (+1 or +2 if grapeshot at any time of the charge)
the fire would be counted as support fire in the shock resolution. (+1 or +2 if grapeshot at any time of the charge)
combattu souvent, battu parfois, abattu jamais
-
- Chasseur
- Messages : 14
- Enregistré le : mar. 18 juin 2019 12:25
Re: Opportunity fire at charging enemy
Merci Talleyrand 

Re: Opportunity fire at charging enemy
I confirm also
-
- Capitaine
- Messages : 234
- Enregistré le : ven. 4 sept. 2020 20:17
Re: Opportunity fire at charging enemy
What then happens if the target flees and the cavalry passes a control test and withdraws?
-
- Chef de bataillon
- Messages : 397
- Enregistré le : ven. 29 nov. 2019 20:55
Re: Opportunity fire at charging enemy
If they flee we are back to the discussion of the unlimbering battery raised in the French section of the forum. The realise to that post favour opportunity fire as the only way the potential supporters can shoot.
I would prefer not to have this. Hopefully the next version will be more specific.
I would prefer not to have this. Hopefully the next version will be more specific.