Threatened Flanks in Combat
Posté : lun. 31 mars 2025 21:10
I am wondering how the rest of the world is interpreting threatened flanks when in combat as there seems to be a mismatch between the diagrams and what it says in the rules.
See attached diagram
Square B1 already has 2 losses from enemy fire. The A1 dragoon charges (+2) with Attack order (+1) and better morale (+1) and A2's canister support (+2) and a threatened flank by B2 (-1) for a total of +5. B1 is in square (+7) with 2 losses (-2) and the riflemen's B2’s fire support (+1) for a total of +6. At equal dice the cavalry is Disordered and must retreat with one attrition.
The rules in the combat section say:-By threatened flank or rear / if infantry by cav. -1/-2
A unit charged on its front edge while threatened on its flank or rear (see page 47), has a -1 penalty on combat. The penalty is increased to -2 if an infantry or artillery is threatened by cavalry. Modifiers accumulate for each threat. Infantry in a building, redoubt or in square formation never suffer this modifier.
So this minus factor only seems to apply if you are being charged not if you are doing the charging so why is there a negative on the cavalry who is charging? Is this a typo and if it isn’t what happens if cavalry counter charges another cavalry unit which charges them can it have a threatened flank?
We also note that threatened flank is judged at the point of combat so if a cavalry unit flies across the front of an infantry/artillery unit and get shot at but ends up out of arc when he contacts does this count as a threatened flank? Certainly the defending unit would count it as support but not sure it’s a threatened flank.
See attached diagram
Square B1 already has 2 losses from enemy fire. The A1 dragoon charges (+2) with Attack order (+1) and better morale (+1) and A2's canister support (+2) and a threatened flank by B2 (-1) for a total of +5. B1 is in square (+7) with 2 losses (-2) and the riflemen's B2’s fire support (+1) for a total of +6. At equal dice the cavalry is Disordered and must retreat with one attrition.
The rules in the combat section say:-By threatened flank or rear / if infantry by cav. -1/-2
A unit charged on its front edge while threatened on its flank or rear (see page 47), has a -1 penalty on combat. The penalty is increased to -2 if an infantry or artillery is threatened by cavalry. Modifiers accumulate for each threat. Infantry in a building, redoubt or in square formation never suffer this modifier.
So this minus factor only seems to apply if you are being charged not if you are doing the charging so why is there a negative on the cavalry who is charging? Is this a typo and if it isn’t what happens if cavalry counter charges another cavalry unit which charges them can it have a threatened flank?
We also note that threatened flank is judged at the point of combat so if a cavalry unit flies across the front of an infantry/artillery unit and get shot at but ends up out of arc when he contacts does this count as a threatened flank? Certainly the defending unit would count it as support but not sure it’s a threatened flank.